“European Village” programme to be held in Hanoi

Friday, 2018-04-27 12:11:00
 Font Size:     |        Print

Some books at the previous "Europe Days" programme
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – A programme entitled ‘European Village’ will take place from May 4 to 6 at the Ly Thai To Statue Square at Hoan Kiem Lake in Hanoi for the first time, promising to offer a fascinating journey to Europe through scenes of its continental cultural with a series of spectacular activities.

Under the framework of “Europe Days 2018” – an annual event held by the European Union (EU) Delegation to Vietnam, the 18 embassies of the EU member states, and the European cultural institutes, the programme will bring a diverse and compelling line-up of about 30 on-stage and off-stage activities on various areas, ranging from concerts, sport, cultural performances, and fashion shows, to creative games for kids and knowledge – stimulating activities.

Visitors to the "Europe Village" will also have the chance to experience a true European atmosphere at countries' booths where special presentations, interactive pursuits and attractive decorations are set up.

The musical scene of the “Europe Days 2018” will be enriched by a Special Concert, featuring the talented Vietnamese violinist Bui Cong Duy and the Vietnam Classical Players (VNCP).

The diversity of European cultural scenes will on full show in the launching of a Special Publication entitled "European Cultural Heritage". 2018 has been designated the European Year of Cultural Heritage by the European Union, with the slogan "Our heritage: where the past meets the future". By celebrating cultural heritage, the European Union also aims to protect it and make sure we pass it on to the next generations.

In addition, the European Books Days in Hanoi and in Ho Chi Minh City, organised by the European Union National Institutes for Culture (EUNIC) and the EU Delegation, will be another highlight of the Europe Days 2018. At the events, Vietnamese readers will be able to enjoy new books from Austria, Denmark, Germany, Finland, France, Czech Republic, Spain, Sweden, Italy, and Belgium.