Quang Liem extends undefeated streak to 50 matches

Sunday, 2017-07-16 14:28:30
 Font Size:     |        Print

Le Quang Liem has remained unbeaten since last September.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – Vietnam’s no.1 chess player Le Quang Liem extended his unbeaten streak in the standard chess category to 50 matches after drawing with Chinese Wang Hao at the ongoing 8th Hainan Danzhou Super Grandmaster Chess Tournament in China on July 15.

>>> Liem climbs to second place after important win

Dutch GM Anish Giri (elo 2,775) was the last player to defeat Liem (elo 2,726) at the 2016 Chess Olympiad last September. But since then, the Vietnamese star has not yet experienced a single loss.

In his last 50 matches, Liem had to encounter tough opponents with elo ratings of 2,700+, including Michael Adams (2,738), Wang Yue (2,737), Bu Xiangzhi (2,711), Wei Yi (2,725), Ding Liren (2,781), Yu Yangyi (2,735), Vladimir Malakhov (2,722) and Arkadij Naiditsch (2,712), which have added further significance tp his unbeaten streak.

In the sixth round of the Super GM tournament on Saturday, Liem played black against Wang Hao (elo 2,698). As assessed by experts, Wang Hao is a solid player, therefore it was difficult to secure the full point from him as his opponent only played black. The reality showed that Quang Liem could not find out Wang’s loopholes to finish off the match, and both agreed to share the point after 47 moves.

The fifth draw helped Liem to retain a place in the group of runners-up, alongside Ding Liren and Vassily Ivanchuk (2,729), with 3.5 points.

However, the door to the championship title is quickly closing for the Vietnamese representative as Chinese Wei Yi (elo 2,738) continued his dominant form with another win over Vladimir Malakhov (elo 2,722), thereby defending his leading position with five points after six rounds of play.

In the seventh round scheduled later today, Liem will play white against Vassily Ivanchuk, who is the reigning world rapid chess champion.

Results of Round 6 matches:

Vassily Ivanchuk 1-0 Ding Liren

Yu Yangyi ½ - ½ Ruslan Ponomariov

Vladimir Malakhov 0-1 Wei Yi

Arkadij Naiditsch ½ - ½ Lu Shanglei

Wang Hao ½ - ½ Le Quang Liem