Ten teams vie for trophy at National Futsal Championship

Tuesday, 2018-05-15 12:27:46
 Font Size:     |        Print

At the opening ceremony of the 2018 National Futsal Championship.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – The 2018 National Futsal Championship officially opened at the Tien Son Sports Palace, in the central coastal city of Da Nang on May 14, with a total of ten teams battling it out for the overall trophy.

The participants include the top six finishers at last year’s tournament, including reigning champions Thai Son Nam, defending runners-up Sanatech Khanh Hoa, Hai Phuong Nam Phu Nhuan, Sanna Khanh Hoa, Saigon FC, and Thai Son Bac, and the four qualifiers, namely Cao Bang, Tan Hiep Hung, Hoang Thu Da Nang, and Kim Toan Da Nang.

According to the regulations, the teams will be competing in a double round robin format, both at home and away, to decide the title holders. Those finishing from first to sixth place will receive automatic byes to the second stage of next year’s championship, while the others will have to play in the qualification round.

The overall champions will represent Vietnam at the AFC Futsal Clubs Championship, while the second-place team will represent the country in the AFF Futsal Clubs Championship, if they fully meet the requirements, in terms of finance and other criteria, from the AFC or the AFF.

The first leg of the 2018 National Futsal Championship will take place from May 13 to June 3 at Da Nang’s Tien Son Sports Palace, while the second leg is scheduled for September 7-29 at the Lanh Binh Thang Gymnasium in Ho Chi Minh City.