Vietnam announces 21 players for U20 World Cup mission

Monday, 2017-05-08 10:05:18
 Font Size:     |        Print

Draw results for the FIFA U20 World Cup 2017.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO—Vietnamese coach Hoang Anh Tuan on May 7 announced the official list of 21 players who will represent Vietnam at the 2017 FIFA U20 World Cup, taking place in the Republic of Korea (ROK) from May 20 to June 11.

The U20 Vietnam lineup for the ROK trip will feature three goalkeepers, seven defenders, eight midfielders and three forwards.

In addition to midfielder Bui Tien Dung, who suffered a heavy injury during the team’s training course in Germany, three other names are also beyond the World Cup plan of the coaching staff, including midfielders Phan Thanh Hau, Truong Tien Anh and Truong Van Thai Quy.

However, as the International Football Federation (FIFA) allows each team to replace two players at the pre-tournament technical meeting on May 19, coach Hoang Anh Tuan has decided to arrive in the ROK with 23 players, with Phan Thanh Hau and Truong Tien Anh as preventive names.

As scheduled, U20 Vietnam will play a friendly match against six-time champions U20 Argentina at Thong Nhat Stadium in Ho Chi Minh City on May 10 night before heading for the ROK the following day.

Earlier in October 2016, U19 Vietnam (now U20 Vietnam), led by coach Hoang Anh Tuan, performed brilliantly to make the semifinals of the 2016 AFC U19 Championships in Bahrain, thereby securing one of Asia’s four places at the U20 World Cup 2017 in the ROK, where they have been drawn in Group E along with France, Honduras and New Zealand.

The list of U20 Vietnam’s 21 players:

Three goalkeepers: Nguyen Ba Minh Hieu, Do Sy Huy and Bui Tien Dung

Seven defenders: Do Thanh Thinh, Doan Van Hau, Dang Van Toi, Ho Tan Tai, Tran Dinh Trong, Huynh Tan Sinh and Nguyen Trong Dai.

Eight midfielders: Tong Anh Ty, Nguyen Quang Hai, Ho Minh Di, Dinh Thanh Binh, Tran Thanh Son, Luong Hoang Nam, Duong Van Hao and Nguyen Hoang Duc.

Three forwards: Nguyen Tien Linh, Ha Duc Chinh and Tran Thanh.

Substitutes: Phan Van Hau and Truong Tien Anh.