Winner of National Press Awards honoured

Saturday, 2019-06-22 12:48:40
 Font Size:     |        Print

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc (4th R) and the winner of the A prize (Photo: DANG KHOA)
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – As many as 106 excellent works by journalists nationwide won the 13th National Press Awards 2018 which was announced at a ceremony in Hanoi on June 21 on the occasion of the Vietnam’s Revolutionary Press Day.

The event was attended by Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc; former Party General Secretary Nong Duc Manh; former National Assembly Chairman Nguyen Sinh Hung; Politburo member and Permanent member of the Secretariat, Tran Quoc Vuong; and Politburo members, Secretaries of the Party Central Committee (PCC): Head of the PCC's Commission for Organisation Pham Minh Chinh; Head of the PCC's Commission for Communication and Education Vo Van Thuong; Chairman of the Party Central Committee's Commission for Economic Affairs Nguyen Van Binh; as well as Secretaries of the Party Central Committee: Chief Justice of the Supreme People's Court of Vietnam Nguyen Hoa Binh; Head of the CPV Central Committee’s Commission for Internal Affairs Phan Dinh Trac; Chairman of the PCC's Theoretical Council and Director of the Ho Chi Minh National Academy of Politics; member of PCC and National Assembly Vice Chairman Do Ba Ty; and many others.

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc

Speaking at the ceremony, on behalf of Party and State leaders, Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc sent his best congratulations and appreciation to the great contributions of the national press team. In particular, warmly congratulating journalists who have won the 13th National Press Award in 2018. The Prime Minister affirmed that, over 13 years, the National Press Award was held more and more professional and quality journalism. This is a prestigious journalism award, honoring the outstanding authors and works that are warmly welcomed by the press around the entire country, and are highly concerned by the Party, the State and the people.

According to Editor-in-Chief of Nhan Dan Newspaper, Deputy head of PCC’s Communication and Education Commission, Chairman of the Vietnam Journalists' Association Thuan Huu said that in 2018, the press closely followed the political tasks of the country, sectors and localities; faithfully reflecting the country’s political, economic, cultural, social, defence, security and foreign affair aspects, as well as the implementation of the Party and State resolutions and directives in 2018; criticising and combating negative acts, corruption, and wrong views of hostile forces; and informing on the important international events in an accurate and timely fashion.

This year’s award attracted over 1,800 works, and is the second consecutive year that the organising committee has received entries from all 63 provincial journalists’ associations.

Accordingly, among the 147 submissions from the final phase, six journalism pieces have claimed the A prize, 24 works received the B prize, 42 works got the C prize, and 34 works were given the consolation prize.

Journalists from Nhan Dan (People) newspaper received one A prize, two B prizes and three C prizes.