Third International Experimental Theatre Festival closes

Sunday, 2016-11-20 11:42:27
 Font Size:     |        Print

Deputy Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism presents gold medals to the best plays. (Photo:
 Font Size:     |  

NDO - The third International Experimental Theatre Festival officially wrapped up in Hanoi on November 19.

Gold medals were presented to three plays, including ‘The Seagull’ by Theatre Centre Without Walls/Theatre Company A La Place, Japan; ‘Ramayana’ by Henan Beijing Opera Troupe, China, and ‘Under the Sand is Water’ by the Army Drama Theatre, Vietnam.

Silver medals went to ‘Medea’ by Youth World Theater – Ho Chi Minh City Academy of Theater and Cinema (Vietnam); ‘Hotel Paradiso’ by Familie Flöz (Germany), ‘Dream’ by the Mini-Stage Theatre, Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam); and ‘Pure Love’ by Tanghalang Ateneo (the Philippines).

In addition, 29 gold medals and 27 silver medals were also presented to the best performers at the awards ceremony.

In his closing speech, People’s Artist Le Tien Tho, Chairman of the Vietnam Stage Artists Association said the event took place in the warm atmosphere of friendship among Vietnamese and international artists.

With 16 plays performed over the past 6 days, the festival has been a significant opportunity for Vietnamese and foreign artists and art delegations to share and exchange professional experiences while the depth and beauty of emotion can be felt in every each theatrical art work, he noted.

The diversity in story and the creative theatrical styles have brought about non-uniformed pictures of social life in each nation. Despite the differences in ideas and artistic styles, all the plays portray the strength ofhumanity and the aspiration for peace, he added.

Co-organised by the Vietnam Stage Artists Association and the Department of Performing Arts under Ministry of Culture, Sport and Tourism, the first and second editions of the festival were successfully held in Vietnam in 2002 and 2006. After a long time of being put on hiatus, the event will be held every three years starting from 2016 under a project approved by the Government.