Winning penalty shootout, Quang Ninh Coal crowned Super Cup winners

Friday, 2016-12-30 11:03:07
 Font Size:     |        Print

Quang Ninh Coal celebrate their National Super Cup on the evening of December 29.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – National Cup winners Quang Ninh Coal downed V-League champions Hanoi FC (previously Hanoi T&T) 4-2 in the penalty shootout at Hang Day Stadium on December 29 to claim the 2016 National Super Cup together with a cash prize of VND300 million (US$13,200).

>>> Hanoi T&T crowned V-League 2016 champions

>>> Quang Ninh Coal crowned National Cup winners

Quang Ninh Coal produced a better start to the match against hosts Hanoi FC and soon cruised ahead thanks to the opener by newcomer Patiyo, who headed home Xuan Tu’s right-wing cross three minutes after the first whistle.

Conceding an early goal, Hanoi FC intensified attacks and put mounting pressure on the guests seeking for an equaliser.

The hosts’ efforts finally paid off in the 28th minute as midfielder Thanh Luong beat goalkeeper Tuan Linh with a cunning free-kick, thereby bringing the match to the starting line.

The second half saw constant attacks deployed by both sides aimed at finishing the match within the 90 official minutes.

Van Quyet put Hanoi in front by successfully converting a 51st-minute penalty kick before Minh Tuan took advantage of the hosts’ defensive mistakes to tie the score 2-2 seven minutes later.

Patiyo carried on with his impressive debut in the new team by restoring Quang Ninh’s lead with a second personal goal on 74 minutes; but Hanoi FC responded immediately with captain Gonzalo heading home for the equaliser five minutes afterwards.

The 3-3 score remained unchanged until the final whistle, forcing the match into the penalty shootout to decide the overall winners.

Goalkeeper Tuan Linh produced a brilliant performance blocking two shots by Hanoi players to help Quang Ninh Coal emerge as 4-2 victors and claim the 2016 National Super Cup, a perfect start of manager Phan Thanh Hung and his players ahead of the 2017 season.